Not Your Normal Chik-Fil-A Post

Tonight I feel the need to diverge from my normal talk of travel and teaching in order to talk about a current issue.

Social media is awash with chicken. On Facebook, on Twitter, on blogs. Chicken. I am tired of chicken. All day long I saw pictures of the lines at Chik-Fil-A or people arguing about the issue on Facebook.

It may be sad but true that I hear a great deal of my news for the day on Facebook or other social media sites. For example, when Abe Lincoln died, the first place I heard it was on Facebook. Or was that Whitney Houston? Uh, anyway…Today no one was talking about anything else. How was I supposed to find out about the issues happening in the world?! (The news broadcast on television? A news website? Ssh!)

Luckily, I did hear about this gem:

On a recent trip to Jamaica, the hip hop super star Snoop Dogg changed his name to Snoop Lion. As if Snoop D-O-double-G wasn’t strange enough already! He will no longer rap about guns and drugs but will instead make reggae albums that his “children and grandparents can listen to”. This all happens only a month after Snoop Dogg Snoop Lion was caught trying to bring a small stash of marijuana into Norway and is now barred from entering the country for two years. The new and improved Rastafarian Snoop feels a connection with the deceased Bob Marley and even claims to be his reincarnation. I know I’ll be waiting eagerly to hear this new album. Why isn’t anyone talking about this piece of news? You. Are. Welcome.

Even though I don’t think Snoop Lion will drop it like it’s hot much anymore, I want to leave you with this video.

Leave a Reply

