San Antonio Museum of Art

I’m loving living in a new city and exploring it when I have the chance. San Antonio has so much to do and see! Today my friend Erin and I went to the San Antonio Museum of Art.

image

It’s located in an old brewery downtown on West Jones Avenue with easy, free parking directly across the street.

image

The museum has 4 floors of permanent exhibits and a separate special exhibit that can been seen for an additional fee.

The first floor boasts an Egyptian collection.

image

And an area of Roman and Greek statues.

image

There is an Asian art wing.

image

And an Oceanic section.

image

The contemporary art  was probably my favorite. It included an electric chair, some abstract paintings, trash turned into art, and a giant fish. (??)

image

image

There’s so much to see that you can easily spend 3-5 hours there. We were there for about 3 hours, and it wasn’t quite enough. Regular admission is $10, children get in for free, seniors pay $7, and students and military have a discounted rate of $5. This museum is full of history and art and worth every penny. If you’re ever in San Antonio, be sure and stop by!
image

2 thoughts on “San Antonio Museum of Art

  1. I LOVE that museum!! Especially fascinating for me was the Latin American folk art. I also thought the “electric chair” was cool. Haven’t got around to posting some of my pictures that I took there on my blog, but I’ll do it eventually!!

Leave a Reply

