And The Mountains Echoed

 

reading and traveling

 

I truly believe this about reading. It’s been about 1 year since I’ve had an overseas trip. I’m starting to get that itch. But, alas, work is standing in my way. So I’ve been escaping via books.

I just finished reading the book “And The Mountains Echoed” by Khaled Hosseini. This novel allowed me to visit Afghanistan, when I don’t think I’d normally ever go there. I learned more about the Afghan culture, just like I did with Hosseini’s previous books “The Kite Runner” and “A Thousand Splendid Suns”.

The title of this novel struck me as being so beautifully poetic. I had that thought every time I opened the book. In the acknowledgments, the author mentioned that the title was inspired by a William Blake poem, so now I understand its poetry.

I really do relish going somewhere by reading. I’ve been to India several times, Italy, Mexico, Hawaii, and so many other amazing places I’ve yet to visit. Where have you traveled via a book? What book was it? I’d love some recommendations.

3 thoughts on “And The Mountains Echoed

  1. Afghanistan likewise comes to mind via Michener’s CARAVANS. Thin by his standards, it’s told differently than in his epic novels. And it was written in ’63, 16 years before the Soviets invaded. To be sure, it would still be a bad place for a coddled American like myself to be, but it’s relatively serene compared to the clusterfuck that the Taliban and then the Americans wrought.

  2. I finished “The Art of Travel” by Alain de Botton and it is really beautifully written, and not what I expected. I think you might enjoy it.

    😀

Leave a Reply

