Letting Go

I’m obsessed with quotes. I  have books of quotes. I put quotes as my Facebook status. I Google quotes according to how I feel. So, tonight I want to share a few quotes I’ve found about letting go, moving on, and moving forward. We all have something in our lives that we need to let go of or move on from. So, let’s make a concerted effort to do so!

“You will find that it is necessary to let things go; simply for the reason that they are heavy. So let them go, let go of them. I tie no weights to my ankles.”
― C. JoyBell C.

“Even though you may want to move forward in your life, you may have one foot on the brakes. In order to be free, we must learn how to let go. Release the hurt. Release the fear. Refuse to entertain your old pain. The energy it takes to hang onto the past is holding you back from a new life. What is it you would let go of today?”

― Mary Manin Morrissey

You’ve gotta know when it’s time to turn the page.”
 Tori Amos

“Sometimes the hardest part isn’t letting go but rather learning to start over.”
― Nicole Sobon

“You can’t look back – you just have to put the past behind you, and find something better in your future.”
 Jodi Picoult

“Moving on is easy. It’s staying moved on that’s trickier.”
 Katerina Stoykova Klemer

“Never believe that an hour you remember is a better hour because it is dead. Passed years seem safe ones, vanquished ones, while the future lives in a cloud, formidable from a distance.”
― Beryl Markham

“She took a step and didn’t want to take any more, but she did.”
― Markus Zusak

“It is only through labor and painful effort, by grim energy and resolute courage, that we move on to better things.”
Theodore Roosevelt 

2 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. I think I’m at this stage in my life. I want to cling on to where I was born and raised, where my family is, hoping to find someone to start my own. But there’s not much for me here. No career prospects, no wife or family to be. I need to move before it’s too late and I become to old to start anew.

    • but then I ask myself, what is going to change in my new place? What if I move just when someone wants to know me here, and I miss that opportunity?

Leave a Reply

