The Paris of China

So, I’ve been slacking on my blogging. My excuse is that I’ve been to China and back. Likely excuse. That’s what everyone says, right? šŸ˜‰ Well, I have lots to say about my trip, so you have lots of posts to look forward to!

I went to China for a teaching program that I work for. Every summer I help train new teachers to go to China, and then the following spring, I visit them in China. It’s nice because I also get a chance to visit my Chinese friends from when I lived in China several years ago.

I got to visit my friend Derek’s hometown of Haining. Haining is in Zhejiang province in the east. It’s a really small city, and I’ve been there several times. However, this time Derek surprised me by taking me to the French area of town. I had no idea it even had a French area. It was more than I imagined! They have a stinkin’ Eiffel Tower! A life-sized one!

Eiffel Tower in China

We also got to walk around the french gardens. They were really beautiful! And I even found some Chinglish, which I always love.

Paris of Haining, ChinaEiffel Tower in ChinaParis of ChinaFrench GardensImage

I’ve never had the chance to go to Paris, but apparently this looks pretty similar. I hope I get to compare it one day! Looking at these photos, you would never guess that I was in China, huh?

7 thoughts on “The Paris of China

  1. Beautiful pictures! I would love to hear more, if you are allowed, about how and what you do to prepare new teachers. It’s something I’m very interested in.

  2. I’m wondering if you’d give me permission to use your Eiffel Tower picture in a school newsletter. I work for a small private high school and our student spotlight this month is from Haining, so I’m including a piece on his hometown.

Leave a Reply

