I Got Threaded Today

My sister Katie, my friend Lisa, and I got threaded today.

Before we continue, please cast your vote about what you think threading is:
a) getting really high on prescription pills
b) being cut by an enemy with barbed wire
c) a beauty procedure

Ding, ding, ding! You win a prize if your answer was C. Oh the things we women will do for beauty! We get procedures preformed on us that sound like things that are done to you on your first night in prison.

My sister has been raving lately about having her eyebrows threaded, so Lisa and I wanted to give it a go. Threading seems to be fairly new, at least in this area. However, it has actually been around for quite some time.

Threading has been a preferred method for women in India and many Arab countries for centuries. It is a way to shape the eyebrows and remove unwanted hair. Thread is used to pluck the hair a line at a time. This method is faster than plucking individual hairs and is less irritating to the skin than waxing.

My sister had been to this particular threading joint several times before, so the owners were friendly enough to talk to us and let us take a few pictures.

Eyebrow Threading

Notice how the thread is anchored in her mouth. And it’s done so quickly! If you’re thinking about giving this a try, I will say it stings a bit. It hurts less than getting your eyebrows waxed though. The results last for about two weeks. It’s pretty inexpensive at $10, which is about the same price you’ll pay to get your eyebrows waxed.

Eyebrow Threading

Just like I enjoy trying food from other countries or listening to music from far away places, it’s also an adventure to try things from other countries you wouldn’t normally think about, like beauty procedures. I always like to do something different. This was my different for the week. :]

Have you ever tried threading? What did you think? If you haven’t, would you? Have you tried an even weirder beauty procedure while living abroad or even in your own country? I did have my eyelashes chemically, semi-permanently curled while I lived in China. But, that’s another story for another day…

3 thoughts on “I Got Threaded Today

  1. Alas, I do not have hair to thread. I am a hairless wonder. I have never shaved. I remember being very fascinated w/ my college roommate’s routine upper lip waxing. 😛

    • Oh no! Sorry it hurt you so badly! I wonder if it just was the lady, or that it was the first time. I know the first time I got my eyebrows waxed it almost killed me! lol

Leave a Reply

