I’m Going Buckwild

Stereotypes. Blondes are dumb. Americans are rich. West Virginians are rednecks. Oh boy, do I hear that last one a lot! I’m from Ohio, but I now live in West Virginia. West Virginia is known for it’s rolling hills and breathtaking natural beauty. But sadly, it’s also know for hillbillies. A few years back, I went to a professional teaching conference in Virginia. Other professionals, people with master’s degrees and PhDs, would ask me where I was teaching. When I told them West Virginia, I actually had people respond with, “But you’re wearing shoes!” or “But you have all your teeth.” Wow! Really? Others from further away said, “Oh, what city in western Virginia?” There literally exists United States citizens who don’t know that West Virginia is a separate state. Hello! Civil War. 1863.

And now MTV is further perpetuating the stereotype with their new show Buckwild. Buckwild follows some young adults in Sissionville, WV, which is actually about an hour away from where I live.

The commercials advertising this show make me cringe. They make Joe Manchin, the WV senator, upset as well. He said, “This show plays to the ugly, inaccurate stereotypes about the people of West Virginia.” It seems like it’s MTV’s specialty to target a group of people and milk the stereotypes about them- i.e. Jersey Shore. Hopefully America will recognize that not all West Virginians are like the ones in this show, just like any intelligent person understands that all Italian Americans aren’t like Snookie or Pauly D. And hopefully people will stop asking me which part of western Virginia I live in!

The first episode airs January 3rd at 10 p.m.

MTV reality show Buckwild

Photo from the Charleston Gazette

4 thoughts on “I’m Going Buckwild

  1. I too have heard the stereotypical responses you get when you say you are from West Virginia. What’s sad is those ignorant responses come from people who reside everywhere around the country. Ironic – and we’re the ignorant, shoe less, missing teeth hillbillies 🙂

  2. Ahh. Yeah, I lived in the Alabama for 6months, dated a Southerner for 6years and my brother’s family is in Tennessee, so I can sympathize. It’s a damn shame about the MTV show. The South is already riddled with so many misconceptions and stereotypes which is why I imagine MTV jumped on the idea.

    Cheer up Ashley! Here’s a little Paisley for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B63ABnKv4jA

    He’s so sexy and smart! 😀

Leave a Reply

