I Don’t Need to Reunite With You!

My 10 year high school reunion came and went during the month of September. I didn’t go. I didn’t even feel the need to go.   In fact, I would say that no one really needs to go to a high school reunion anymore.  “How dare she?!” you say? Yes, how dare I.

It’s not that I hate everyone from high school. It’s just that I think Facebook has cancelled the need for anyone to attend their reunion.

I think, in the past, that the only reason people attended their reunions is because they are nosy. They want to know what people look like 10 years later, what they have accomplished, where they’re living, who they’re married to, and if they have kids. (Not that there’s anything wrong with being nosy; I’m the queen of being nosy!)

Facebook has taken care of knowing all that. I probably know way more about my high school classmates now than I did when we were in high school together and saw them every day. I could tell you all about them, even what they had for dinner on some days. In fact, I wish I could unknow some of the things I’ve seen about them on Facebook. Cold shiver.

One of my co-workers just went to her 10 year reunion a few weeks ago. She said hardly anyone talked to each other. In fact, she went up to talk to a table of people and they said, “Where do you work? Are you married? Do you have any kids?” She answered, and they said, ” Ok, great. See you in 10 more years!” Wow!

So yea, it’s people like me who caused there to only be 30 people at our reunion. Maybe I shouldn’t be so jaded, and I should want to spend actual time with my high school classmates. I’m sorry. But I’ll just look at the pictures of it that you posted on Facebook.

Here’s a nice, blurry high school photo of me for your enjoyment

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Need to Reunite With You!

Leave a Reply

