The Life of an ACT Administrator

I took the ACT three times during my junior and senior year of high school. The only thing I remember about it is that we took it in the school cafeteria. Other than that, I seriously don’t remember anything. Maybe I blacked out. Three times. Even so, I ended up doing pretty well on it.

Now I’m an ACT test administrator. (Wow, I sound like an adult!) 3 or 4 times a year I give the ACT to groups of about 50 local high school students.

I know I don’t like getting there at 7 am on a Saturday, but it’s nothing compared to seeing bleary-eyed teenagers trying to drag themselves through the door for 4 straight hours of testing. Why the ACT thinks giving a test that will determine a person’s college career at 8 am is a good idea for teenagers is beyond my understanding.

I’m a people watcher, so it’s interesting to see these new faces and how they react to the testing situation. Today I just happened to look at a kid at the exact moment he read a really difficult question and his eyes just about popped out of his head. I had to stop myself from laughing aloud. It never fails that I always have 1 or 2 kids that stare at me all during the test. I don’t know if they’re thinking about trying to cheat or just think I’m cute! We always have a 10 minute break during testing and I saw a guy and a girl talking, and they were obviously a couple. When they separated to go sit back down, he smacked her on the butt and told her good luck! Haha. So, on second thought, maybe I see more than I need to see.

It’s funny as I get older to be on the other side of things- being the teacher instead of the student, giving the ACT instead of taking it. Even though I was there for 5 and 1/2 hours, at least I was getting paid instead of taking the test. ;]

Leave a Reply

