Scaredy Cat

Everybody’s scared of something. But we’re all scared of different things.

The top 5 fears of Americans are:

  1. Speaking in public
  2. Snakes
  3. Confined spaces
  4. Heights
  5. Spiders
(However, every online source I found had different fears in different orders! Grr!)

Fear of the unknown is a common fear. I think that one gets me a lot. Before I do something for the first time, I feel like I could pass out. But isn’t it funny how after you go ahead and do it, it really wasn’t all that bad, all that difficult, or all that scary? It’s doing it for the first time that really gets us.

I remember when I was probably 10, my mom had me go in the city building to pay her water bill. I told her I was a kid and that I couldn’t do that! Only adults do stuff like go pay bills. She told me exactly how to do it-where to go, what to say. After I did it, I remember thinking that it wasn’t so bad. I could do that again.In fact, I could probably run that water company!

So, go ahead and try what you’ve been scared to do. You can try it once, and if you fail miserably, oh well! At least you tried! Or you can sit around and wonder. It’s really not as scary as it seems.

Image

3 thoughts on “Scaredy Cat

Leave a Reply

