The Moscow of China

On my trip to China in March, I had the chance to go to Harbin for the first time, which is in the north, very close to Siberia and Russia. It has a lot of Russian influence, because in 1921, 100,000 of the 300,000 people in Harbin were Russian. I got some great shots of the architecture, and I’d like to share them with you.

St. Sophia Cathedral (Софийский собор в Харбине) is a Russian Orthodox cathedral located in downtown Harbin.

Image

Russian Orthodox church from the 1920’s with a ferris wheel from the amusement park in the background. How funny.

Image

Window in a Jewish synagogue turned coffee shop/hostel

Image

Bell Tower-1930

Image

Love this window!

Image

It’s hard to believe I took these photos in China. Even though I’ve never been to Europe, I now feel like I have been…at least to Russia.

Leave a Reply

