Counting Sheep

I know most people count sheep to try to fall asleep, but I am always doing uh, unique, things when I can’t sleep. I started my first method when I was a kid. I tried to name all my cousins. For some people, this may be an easy accomplishment. However, when your dad has 12 brothers and sisters, you end up with more than 30 first cousins. I seriously remember lying in my bed in 2nd or 3rd grade trying to name every cousin I have and always falling asleep before I finished.

My next technique started after moving to China. I try and count in Chinese as high as I can. Yi, er, san, snoooooze. That one usually works pretty well. I guess I started this one just because I was practicing my Chinese.

My newest method has been trying to name all the airports I have been in. I guess this one started a few months ago when I was buying a plane ticket. I started wondering if I had been to a certain airport, and I really didn’t know. So, that night in bed I tried to think of all the airports I have been through. It was quite a few! More than 25 I’m sure.

I got to thinking that these might be strange ways to try and fall asleep, but maybe others have even weirder things they count or name in order to make themselves sleepy. What works for you?

One thought on “Counting Sheep

Leave a Reply

