Dubby Dub Dub

I love dubstep! A few months ago, I wouldn’t have even been able to tell you what that word meant, so let me tell you how I made this discovery….

Don’t tell anyone, but I am in love with the show “The Sing Off”! From the very first episode this season when they sang Katy Perry’s song “E.T.”, I became obsessed with the group Pentatonix. Here they are singing “Your Love is My Drug” by Kesha (which I normally hate, by the way). Be on the look out at about 1:20 into the song for the break-down. They do some dubstep.

 

 

I wasn’t sure what it was about them, but I just knew I loved the beats they made in the songs and the original way they arranged them. Then, I figured it out. I like dubstep! I have been hearing about dubstep a lot lately. It really has only been around since about 1999, but didn’t start getting really big until about 2010. It started in London and has made its way around the world. It’s characterized by the uniqueness of the drums and bass, with the bass having a sort of “wobble”.

Not only do I love this dubstep remix to “Pumped Up Kicks” by Foster the People, but this dude’s dancing is sick!

Skrillex is really great. Here is their song “Kyoto”.

Now, just about everyone is incorporating dubstep into their songs from Rihanna to Britney Spears. Ok, I have to go find some glow sticks! I’ll be back!

One thought on “Dubby Dub Dub

Leave a Reply

