Beware the Barrenness of a Busy Life

I hate when someone tells me they’re too busy to do something! You choose not to do something. You make time for what you think is important and what you want to do. The other stuff gets pushed into the “too busy” category. Today I was too busy to do laundry, but I had time to go out to eat with my friends. I just chose what I had time for. It’s just in how we prioritize.

It seems like our society tells us that we MUST be busy every second of the day. Sometimes I even feel bad when I do something relaxing, because I feel like there is something else more pressing that I should be do. I should be accomplishing something. Do we always have to be busy being productive? It’s sad that I feel conflicted about taking a nap or reading a few chapters from a book. Shouldn’t I be cleaning? I could be getting ahead at work, right? I should at least be exercising! No, no, no.  Don’t be too busy to actually slow down and enjoy life. You miss a lot when you’re too busy! And some of the best things happen when nothing is planned and nothing has to be done.

Some people take on too much. You’ve got to learn to say no. Do just a couple of things well, not a ton of things half way. Do less, but be amazing at what you do.

I am obsessed with quotes, so here are some quotes about busyness:

There is more to life than increasing its speed. -Mahatma Gandhi

Ever notice that even the busiest people are never too busy to tell you just how busy they are? -Anonymous

The really idle man gets nowhere. The perpetually busy man does not get much further. -Sir Heneage Ogilvie

Beware the barrenness of a busy life.- Socrates

Leave a Reply

